Ordinary Homes

After a long silence I am happy to be back, soon with more strange homes.

But before that a sneak preview into the life of ordinary homes:

an ordinary home in Helsinki from the 1950's. copyright Hanna Meriläinen
an ordinary home in Helsinki from the 1950’s. © Hanna Meriläinen
© Hanna Meriläinen
© Hanna Meriläinen

After looking for some time for unusual architecture and actually being usually surrounded by more or less ordinary architecture the subject of everyday started to fascinate me more and more. So I’ve spent the last year searching for the best examples of ordinary homes I’ve been able to find, drawing them, documenting them in all their glorious normality – which turned out to be different than what I expected. Ordinary does here not mean boring but real, typical, standardized and in many cases ideal/idealistic. I think I found some of the best Finnish homes as well.

But more about this soon!

Leave a Reply

